Skip to content

My Not-So-Lazy Sunday

November 22, 2010

Hey everyone!  Hope you all had a great weekend!

I had a busy day yesterday!!  I didn’t even get my workout in!  Maybe a double is in store for tonight!

Since today is my first day of work, I’ve been busy getting things ready for the week.  Kind of like nesting, lol. Since I will be leaving in the morning before Pete and the kids wake up for breakfast, I decided to do some baking so they don’t all starve if they get sick of cereal 🙂

Banana bread

I also made a pumpkin loaf as well as apple-cinnamon-raisin!  Special shout-out to Angela @  http://ohsheglows.com (I am having the WORST time trying to link externally since WordPress did their little “upgrade”) for the tip to soak raisins before baking!  They got nice and plump!

While I was waiting for my stuff to bake and in between endless dishes I started to rearrange the fridge and prep some of my produce for the week.  I had a pinto bean disaster last week where I let all the water boil out and my beans were burning to the bottom of the pan—ooops.  I should have just thrown them away instead of guiltily forcing them down twice.  I tried to give them to Clark

Note his “WTF, mom” stare.

Feeling not only bad for trying to pass off my failure to Clark, but also for actually forcing them down twice, I remembered seeing a recipe for homemade doggie oaties from the lovely miss HEAB.  I had a bunch of leftover diced apples and a half a can of pumpkin, so I altered her recipe slightly.

1 cup pumpkin

1 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup diced apples

1/2 cup applesauce

2 cups oats

Combine ingredients and spoon by dallops onto cookie sheet.  Bake @ 325* 10 minutes.

Ole Clark was much, much, happier with this. I even made him a big bone-shaped treat.

Well off to get ready for work.  Have a fabulous Monday!

p.s. Look what finally came!!  I won this in a contest in the Running Moms group way back this summer.  I had pretty much given up on it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 12:24 pm

    OMG the bone-shaped oatie is adorable:) Totally gonna steal that idea:)

  2. November 22, 2010 6:56 pm

    Are you thinking about starting an all vegan diet? It looks like your current diet already matches up with it, so it may not be that hard to switch to.

    http://www.vrg.org/nutrition/protein.htm

    • November 23, 2010 6:35 am

      I would consider it. I am not sure I can ever give up meat entirely or put any kind of label on my way of eating. But I do intend on incorporating more vegan meals into my diet in the next year!

  3. November 23, 2010 9:45 am

    Haha, I love the pinto bean disaster story. I can totally relate. I always have to eat my disasters too. I feel so bad throwing them out!

    • November 23, 2010 6:25 pm

      yeah you have to be in the kitchen practically the whole time they are cooking!! I swear the pot was full of water and then 15 min later it was empty and the beans were burnt to the bottom! LOL

Leave a Reply

