Skip to content

Speaking of Veganism…

November 20, 2010

I decided early this morning that I need to get serious about giving up dairy.  I know it upsets my stomach, yet I’ve still been reaching for the pizza (in some form) at least four nights a week.  Sheesh.  I am 99% positive I will feel much better when I give it up so here goes nothing!!  Time to see if a die-hard cheese lover from dairyland central can do this.

I ate not one, but two, vegan meals today.  (lunch involved a hamburger but it was not a cheeseburger!) Breakfast was oatmeal with coconut milk for creaminess, my favorite Smucker’s all-natural peanut butter, and a chocolate swirl made from cocoa powder and agave.  I could (and often, do) eat this every day for breakfast.  yummmm.

And dinner…well, dinner was just amazing. 

Organic lettuce from the Aqua Ranch with Annie’s Goddess dressing, cashews, baby carrots with pesto hummus, seseme wheat crackers that got crushed over the lettuce, and my new fav…apple chips!

Okay…I just wanted an excuse to eat a whole bag of these and not feel too guilty.  hehe.

These are quite possibly the food equivalent of crack.  I picked them up this afternoon at Hyvee.  Along with many other healthy goodies.

I was suddenly ravenous after getting home and unloading the groceries but of course I felt like I had nothing to eat.  My fridge was stuffed, my pantry stocked, yet I was pre-heating the oven in defeat, about to cook a frozen pizza I had picked up for Pete to eat.  Then I wanted to kick myself for lacking the willpower to make it even just one day.  So I tried to fill my plate with as many things as possible that also required no effort and no dishes. 

I’m so glad I did.  I know I won’t hate myself in two hours or later tonight when I’m doing plyo.  This is totally something I can take with me to work, either as a meal or as things to snack on throughout the day.  Sometimes the simplest of things can really make a great combination! 

What is your favorite simple meal? 

Hope everyone is having a good weekend 🙂

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 3:56 pm

    Hey Doll! Dairy and I don’t mix either! It is so hard on your tummy and causes some “ish” in the bod 😉

    My fave simple meal is either a salad or a black bean & avocado brown rice wrap!

    xxoo

    • November 22, 2010 6:28 am

      thank you for stopping by! I am seeing a lot of us intolerant to dairy! At least it makes finding recipes easier 🙂

  2. November 21, 2010 6:37 pm

    Did you complete the entire p90x series already? Were you happy with it? It seems great, but designed for people ALREADY in good shape going in. Some of the exercises seem tough from then start.

    • November 22, 2010 6:26 am

      I would say you need to be in decent shape before you start. I was running about 3 miles and also doing a lot of strength training with Jari Love dvds before I started p90x. I think your workout has to be tough to get results 🙂

  3. November 21, 2010 9:21 pm

    Snack plates like that are my fave. I know it’s strange but I like raw tofu with a little honey mustard and a simple little salad when I’m not feeling like a big elaborate dinner.

    • November 22, 2010 6:25 am

      I’ve never tried tofu! But I do love me some honey mustard 🙂

  4. November 23, 2010 10:11 am

    I’ve been trying to eat mainly vegan as well. I always feel best when I do. I had seared ahi tuna on Sunday and bloated up horribly (not sure if it was the tuna or if there was a little hidden gluten in my salad, but I’m going to avoid meat again for a while anyway!). I have such a high energy level when I eat that way. The chocolate swirl in your oatmeal sounds delicious!!!

  5. November 23, 2010 9:56 pm

    Good for you! You will feel so much better, I promise. 😀

    Simple meals I love are stir-fry, oatmeal, pastas, and frozen vegan meals.

    Whitney

    • November 25, 2010 12:27 am

      I hope so!! I didn’t think I could give up my beloved cheese, but so far, so good!

  6. November 27, 2010 3:51 pm

    i love apple chips! i put them on my oatmeal!!

  7. November 28, 2010 11:03 am

    Dairy is really hard for some people because it is not in its natural form, but homogenized and pastureized which renders it virtually indigestible by the human body. I encourage you to pick up the book Real Food by Nina Planck, it explains alot of dieting and nutrition fallacies that we have because the food system of this country tells us the complete opposite of how we should be eating! Let me know if you pick itup!!

    • November 28, 2010 11:08 am

      Thanks for the tip! I’ll have to add that one to my Amazon wish-list.

Leave a Reply

