Skip to content

Meet Peter, Riley, and Clarky-Dog

November 19, 2010

First comes love.

Then comes marriage

Then it would be probably the smartest and easiest thing to follow that with college, a career, and a house before you decide you want to hear the pitter-patter of little feet.

Hahahaha.

I did not chose that road.  Sometimes I’ll play the whole “what-if” game when things get frustrating but honestly, I wouldn’t trade my kids for the world.  If I would have waited, maybe I would have been too wrapped up in my career, maybe we would have had infertility problems; the list could go on and on. 

So while most 26 year olds have a good start in their career and have spent the better part of their 20s partying and having fun, I’ve been busy being a mom and an Army wife.  But it’s okay.  I’ll be able to go out and have fun and travel when I’m 40 while everyone else is dealing with their tots at home 🙂 

Back to the story.  We wanted the whole American dream.  The nice house, the 2.2 kids, yadda yadda yadda.  We currently just have the 2.2 kids.  But they are awesome. 

Meet Peter.

Gosh, he was a beautiful baby.  9 lbs, 2 oz, so he never really had that awkward, newborn “wet dog” phase that some babies have.  He was born a little plump and he was just perfect. 

Now he is 4, in preschool, and a total riot.  He has a *slight* superhero obsession.  On any given day, he is Spiderman, Superman, Batman, Ironman, or some combination of the above.

“Look Mom, I’m Tony Stark!”

O.M.G.

I just died.  I had no clue that he was finding things from around the house to make him look like Ironman. 

on Halloween

and last night…

umm…Spiderman pj’s with a Batman mask with a Santa cape and dad’s combat boots. 

LOVE IT!!

Then came little miss Riley

Only 8 lbs, much easier on mom 🙂

A baby who knew what she wanted.  She has never been shy about letting us know what she wants and how she wants it.  Refused to nurse anymore at 5 months in favor of feeding herself her own bottle.  I think me feeding her baby food lasted maybe a week before she insisted on feeding herself.  My little diva girl.

Now she is 10 days shy of 23 months.  Going on 7. 

Then there’s my other baby.  The fur one. 

We let Peter name him.  Sort of.  At that time, he was on a Superman kick.  Watching the Christopher Reeves Supermans all winter, and he loved Clark Kent.  When we went to pick him up, the family he was staying with had been calling him Clark because their son was also into Superman.  So out went the other names we had in mind, since he was meant to be a Clark.  Or as the kids call him, Clarky-Dog.  (to Riley, it’s Qwarkie.)

Clark’s not so little anymore.  More like my 90-lb lapdog.  I miss those cute little floppy ears and being able to pick him up and put him where I want him.  Can’t do that anymore!  Do you have a dog?

I’m going to start giving monthly updates about what these three are up to.  The Adventures of Peter, Riley, and Clarky-Dog.   Stay tuned.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 9:46 am

    Aww, you have adorable kids (including the furry one)! That was such a fun post to read and I look forward to the updates! It made me smile to see all the superhero outfits. Haha. He’s creative! I love how he used underwear for the Tony Stark outfit. Too funny!

    Emily

  2. November 19, 2010 9:57 am

    Thanks Emily! Of course I agree, although I am a little biased 😉

    Peter really is hilarious. The underwear really just made the whole outfit, no? He has the most vivid imagination. It’s a little scary, though, when he’s trying to be Spiderman and climbing up high and then trying to jump off. I think if we can make it to 5 without any broken bones, we will be lucky!

  3. November 19, 2010 10:01 am

    Your kids are so adorable! Pup included 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. My Not-So-Lazy Sunday « A Taste of Tangy
  2. Running Naked « A Taste of Tangy
  3. My weight-loss journey « A Taste of Tangy

Leave a Reply

