Skip to content

Meals away from home

November 17, 2010

I’m trying to gather my thoughts here 🙂

I’m starting a new job on Monday and it will be the first time in a couple of years that I won’t be able to come home to eat, and the first time ever that I will actually care what is going into my body.  I think this could be a great help to my “eating right” success which I have been failing miserably at all year.  I will be doing great, then an impulsive streak will take over and I will ruin a perfectly good day or week.  I will eat things I know my body doesn’t like, things that i know I will be sorry for later.  Do you have any of those kinds of foods?

My biggest downfall is poor planning.  I get overwhelmed when I try to plan too far ahead.  I’ve never been able to do it.  And the second biggest downfall is self-control away from home.  I never order the healthy item on the menu; I order whatever sounds good at the moment, when I am usually coming off a 4-hour or more hunger fast and admittedly do not have good judgement.  I’ll eat the spare tire special, along with a side of love handles.  Or if I’m at a family gathering I just lose all conventional wisdom and eat to my heart’s content…bad. 

I’m not willing to continue this pattern.  I’m trying to figure out the best and easiest meal plan possible.  Like a general guideline that can be customized for whatever day or if I’m in the mood for beef vs chicken, etc.  I will have to wake up and do an early morning workout every day around 5am.  I am already dreading my alarm clock going off before 5, because it honestly takes me at least 20 minutes in the morning to get down the stairs, go to the bathroom, drink a cup of coffee, and have a little pep talk with myself, convincing myself that getting out of my warm bed when I could be getting another hour of sleep is the right thing to do.

Then I will need to shower, get dressed, and get all pretty because I am not among the naturally beautiful.  I’m also not blessed with naturally curly or naturally straight hair:  mine is at an awkward stage in-between that looks like total doodoo if I do not do something with it.  And since it will be a professional setting, I’m thinking the standard ponytail will be out as a daily option.  So since most of my morning will be devoted to self-improvement, I will not have much time to make a big hearty breakfast.  I’ve also been having trouble forcing eating enough vegetables every day, I am thinking the best solution will be a protein smoothie.  Loaded with spinach and fruit to knock out a couple daily servings, protein for my post-workout muscles, flax for my joints and insides, and rice milk to make it go down my straw easier. 

I’m not a tiny girl (I’m 5’8 and definitely not on the itty-bitty side) and I metabolize those smoothies rather quickly.  I’d say within an hour or two my stomach is rumbling for more.  I’m not sure if I’ll get a break or not so it would have to be an easy snack that wouldn’t need refrigeration that I could keep close by–I’m thinking along the lines of a larabar.  If I ever get a food processor I can make my own 🙂

Lunch should include another vegetable since I know if I have a choice for supper, it will probably not include any form of leafy green or anything requiring a lot of dishes or prep-work.  I’ll be tired at the end of the day and bombarded by my kids and cooking anything complicated will not be on the agenda.  So lunch will need veggies…but what??  I feel so confined to salad, which I really do not enjoy much, but maybe an acquired taste I will learn to like??  I love roasted veggies but only fresh out of the oven.  Re-heated in the microwave?  not.so.much.  What kinds of things do you bring to work for lunch?  I should mention, my lunches need to be somewhat appealing since I will have a Mexican restaurant less than a block away, taunting me, hehe.  Maybe once a month 😉

And for dinners, the easiest thing I can think of is…oatmeal!  Cheap, easy, healthy, and only one dish to wash.  It’s pretty versatile and I can really play around with the combinations so I give myself at least two months before I get sick of it, and I’ll cross that bridge when I get there. 

I ran for the first time in the cold today.  Not COLD COLD but cold enough to need pants, a coat, a hat, and gloves.  I’m not sure if it was the cold or my sore body or my lack of speed training in the recent months, but wow, it was rough!  The kind of run where I felt like I was flying (and working really hard to do so), only to glace at my watch and notice my first mile was right around 9:00.  ***angry face*** I ended my 3-mile run at 24:29 so the second two miles got faster but I wasn’t even sure if I could hang on for the whole three.  I felt better during last week’s 10 mile run with the kids.  What gives?!  Runners, have you had any off-days lately?  How do you deal with them?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mara permalink
    November 17, 2010 7:20 pm

    Tangy…you are quite simply amazing! I get advice from you… I never eat well so take no advice from me….I do love my granola bars and 3cheese ziti from smartones, that’s all I got! Where are you workin??

    • November 17, 2010 7:36 pm

      Hi Mara! Thanks for reading! I do not eat granola bars…full of sugar, and no frozen premade meals…way too processed, way too many chemicals added! I’ll msg ya on Facebook about the job!

  2. Mandie permalink
    November 18, 2010 6:35 am

    Tangy, you could try putting pre-cooked oatmeal (just cook a large batch on Sunday night (or do a crock pot version overnight) and run some of that through your smoothie. I have Bernard add oatmeal to his because he doesn’t stay full for long either — and it really helps.

    Lunches…bring some healthy wraps or sandwiches. I like brown some ground turkey in a little stock (to keep it moist) and some seasonings and then add that wraps (well, now salads) with spinach and whatever other veggies I like. If you’re worried about the wrap or bread getting soggy, just pack a few things separately, and build it on your lunch break. You are NOT confined to cold lunches. You could make some soups ahead on the weekend and pack those to warm up. You could have oatmeal!

    Dinner….We eat a lot of roasted chicken breasts and thighs. Rinse, pat dry, throw them on a baking sheet with seasonings, and roast them at 425 for around 20-30 minutes. And I roast some veggies at the same time. Or I do a roast in the crockpot with beef stock, carrots and celery and onion (I know you don’t like onion) and seasonings. And when I’m done working, I just have to roast some veggies or warm up some soup as a side. Chili is fast….brown rice pasta with clean sauces (for lunch too)…stews…brown rice sauteed with veggies and meat….

    • November 18, 2010 1:57 pm

      Great ideas, Mandie! As usual, lol. I think I might try some fajita stuff! I love me some grilled steak and veggies all wrapped up 🙂 I didn’t even think about wraps. I’m also thinking of some kind of meat/veggie stew in the crockpot so if I have leftovers, I can bring those, too 🙂

  3. November 18, 2010 10:06 am

    If I eat anything Super sugary, I know I’ll regret it later.

    • November 18, 2010 1:54 pm

      Really sugary stuff gives me a major headache!

Leave a Reply

