Skip to content

Well, hot damn!

November 14, 2010

I’ve been a little MIA lately.  Lots of things going on for me!!  First of all, and subtly mentioned in another post, I am going to be among the employed soon!!  I am so excited for this change and ready to take on the working world once again!!  I’ve been very fortunate to be able to stay home with my kids for most of their lives and spend a lot of time with them but I think it is now time for mom to get her sanity back 🙂  I could not be more excited and I’ll keep you posted with how my first day goes! 

Second of all, it was Veterans Day on Thursday!!  My wonderful husband is a proud two-time Army combat veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom and I know so many other active duty servicemembers and their wives and I will be forever grateful for their sacrifices!

So in honor of Veteran’s Day, especially of all those who can no longer do this, I decided to take on probably the most challenging workout I’ve ever done:  a 10 mile run.  I’ve never been able to make it that far in my previous attempts.  But not only a 10 mile run, but a 10 mile run while pushing two tots in my double stroller.  And you know what? 

 I did it!!

It was really hard mentally to get that far and around mile 9, I had to stop and stretch out my knee that started hurting, but I quickly got back to running.  I could do this.  I tried to think of those who were no longer physically capable of such a feat and I was able to push through the pain and finish.  When I checked my watch, I saw I had finished in 1:38:24, so under a 10 minute pace.  My knees were extremely sore for two days but now they are fine.  I am so amazed that I was able to do that–pushing a double jogger is hard!  And the kids usually get cranky or start fighting or crying so I don’t usually get that long of a run in but they were amazingly good on Thursday and I feel so proud of myself!!  I may still have another 20 lbs to lose, but I am not weak and I am not out of shape.  Last summer I couldn’t even run one mile without having to walk, and now I am up to 10 miles with the double stroller.  I feel very confident that next year will be an amazing year for me, hopefully with lots of road races and new PRs!

Have you ever challenged yourself to do something you didn’t think you could do?  Did you succeed?

The rest of the weekend will be spent relaxing, for the most part.  I finished my p90x arms and shoulders workout earlier today and I plan on doing the yoga workout tonight since I am a couple days behind on my workout schedule!  Hope you all are having a great weekend 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 3:29 pm

    It’s great you’re doing so well with p90x. Have you ever considered Insanity? It gets great reviews but, as the name suggest, is very difficult. You should be able to handle it though!!

    • November 14, 2010 3:44 pm

      I’ve thought about Insanity and I might try it at some point next year, but my next fitness must-have will be a Lauren Brooks dvd and some kettlebells!! I can’t wait to try those!!

  2. November 15, 2010 10:29 am

    Way to go Tangy! Btw tell Pete we said thanks for his service!

Leave a Reply

