Skip to content

Pizza Night

November 6, 2010

 

A few months ago, Pete and I decided to start a new family tradition:  Friday Night Pizza Night.  We were both working daytime hours throughout the week and it just seemed like a great way to kick off the weekend–eat something delicious that we didn’t make and no dishes to clean up.  We only have one local pizza place and we’d order a large pizza and two orders of the cheese-filled Bosco breadsticks for the kids.

But after a while, he began working at his current job and no longer had Friday nights free.  And the nearly $30 pricetag for our pizza nights was really something we needed to cut out.  So I have started making everything homemade.  Yesterday I made some breadsticks for the kids.  It is really easy to do. 

First I started off with a homemade pizza crust.  I like this recipe (also mentioned here) because it is very simple and easily customizable.  I like to add some spices in with my crust for some extra flavor.  I think it would also taste very good as sweet breadsticks with cinnamon added.

Once my crust has been made and sits for about 45 minutes, I knead it a couple of times then start to make my breadsticks.

 

I tear off a chunk

then flatten it out into a large oval and place a light string cheese inside

Then just fold the dough over and pinch in the seams to make your breadsticks.  I was able to make 10 from the one batch of dough.

Then bake at 375* for 15 minutes.  Serve with pizza sauce for dipping.

The kids devoured these and I’m ashamed to admit that I did, too!  I was able to make one of their favorite foods much healthier and save a lot of money in the process!

Today I woke up feeling just miserable–those 4 breadsticks I ate sure didn’t help!  I’ve suspected for a while now that I have some food sensitivities.  I know I cannot handle corn–either fresh/frozen or in popcorn form, and I’ve eliminated it from my diet.  I’m afraid either dairy and/or gluten will be next.  I want to stop spending half my day in the bathroom but at the same time, I’m really scared to have the knowledge of being sensitive to certain foods because I do consume a lot of whole wheat foods as well as cheese. 

 Do you have any food allergies/sensitivities?  Has it been a struggle for you?

I’m going to start by eliminating both gluten and dairy for as long as I can stand it–honestly I’ll be happy if I can make it three days–then add just one back in, back off again, then add the other.  Just to see if not eating them makes a difference.  I’ll keep you posted 🙂

Naturally, today has been a struggle.  I want to eat cheese and ice cream just because I “can’t.”  I started off with a green smoothie, this one made with spinach, strawberry, banana, mango, flax, and rice milk.  I almost added a scoop of whey before I remembered it counted as dairy!

Lunch was a bowl of oatmeal.

Very simple and dairy and gluten-free 🙂

I cooked one serving of old-fashioned oats on the stovetop and added about 2 tbsp coconut milk right after I turned off the heat to make it nice and creamy.  Then I added 2 tbsp peanut butter, and a cocoa-agave “chocolate syrup” because I am a tad chocolate-obsessed 😉

Hope you are having a great weekend!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 5:04 am

    I’m going through the same thing – trying to do an elimination diet in order to figure out what is bothering me. I already can’t have gluten since I was diagnosed with celiac disease over 3 years ago. So whenever I would have digestive issues I would blame it on getting “glutened” somehow. Lately though, I’m pretty sure I haven’t been glutened – my suspects are tree nuts, dairy, flax & hemp. I look forward to seeing if you figure it out.

    Those bread sticks look amazing!!!!

    • November 8, 2010 7:09 am

      Oh no!! I didn’t even realize you could be allergic to some of those things!! I hope it isn’t tree nuts–that would be the worst!! I did not stick to gluten-free and dairy free yesterday and my problems have returned today…why is it that all of the things I love–cheeseburgers, quesadillas, and pizza come to mind–all have gluten and dairy?! I really need to use up what is in my pantry before going grocery shopping again so I’m not sure if I can really do any good experimenting this week but I am still 99% sure that gluten or dairy is to blame!

      • November 9, 2010 11:13 am

        If you ever need good recipes for any of your favorite foods in gluten free form let me know! I’ve just about done it all (pizza, fresh pasta, hamburger buns, pancakes, breads, etc) 🙂

  2. Mandie permalink
    November 8, 2010 7:01 am

    Tangy — I’ve noticed that since I’ve cut out dairy and wheat products…my stomach CANNOT handle them when I do eat them. I had a lot of that stuff this weekend, I was suffering yesterday. My body just doesn’t digest it very well. Try cutting out dairy first (especially cheese) and see how you feel. That’s what I did. It takes awhile, but I don’t even crave cheese anymore (and I LOVED cheese).

    Elana’s Pantry http://www.elanaspantry.com/ has some really awesome CLEAN gluten free recipes, and she doesn’t use any crazy combination of flours or starches. Just plain old almond flour or coconut flour.

    • November 8, 2010 7:41 pm

      Mandie–I have her cookbook on my Amazon wishlist…among the 50 other things! LOL

  3. November 10, 2010 7:35 pm

    It’s great that you’re doing well on the ABS Diet. That said, with a sensitive stomach, are you able to tolerate those foods without having gastrointestinal issues (bloating, gas, pain, etc.)? A lot of the foods recommended in the ABS Diet are known to be tougher on the stomach. Keep up the good work!

    • November 11, 2010 12:42 pm

      Funny that you say that–right before I started the Abs Diet, I ate anything and everything and I had a stomach of steel–or so I thought!! So making that change made me stop eating a lot of the crap but then I got more strict for a while and now I’m not sure if I’m just now noticing this or if I just never put two-and-two together before but yes-I do have some problems when I eat certain things–especially cheese!! Oy! I’m not done experimenting or tweaking my eating but hopefully in the next 6 months or so I’ll figure out the right combo of foods to lose weight and to feel great while doing it!!

  4. November 11, 2010 8:38 pm

    It takes a while to find out what works best and what doesn’t. Which foods do you eat most often as part of the ABS diet? Thanks!

    • November 12, 2010 11:02 am

      I eat a lot of oatmeal, berries, nuts, eggs, and lean meat.

Leave a Reply

