Skip to content

Sorry, no pictures!

November 1, 2010

I am still new to the whole world of food blogging.  I haven’t yet gotten used to the idea of taking a picture of my food before I eat it, or to take pictures in the different stages of my food-making.  I’m sure with time, it will become a habit but now it isn’t til after I inhale eat my food that I think about taking a picture!  Ooops! 

So just use your imagination for today 🙂

I’ve been eating a lot of oatmeal for breakfast.  It’s fast, it’s cheap, and it’s pretty nutritious.  I love finding new ways to eat my oatmeal and my current favorite is a chocolate/peanut butter combo–is there anything chocolate/peanut butter that is not delicious?!  I make a single serving of oatmeal on the stovetop ( 1 cup water, 1/2 cup oats) since I’ve had a few explosions in the microwave while trying to cook it in there.  Then after it cooks and is still on the stovetop, I add 1-2 tbsp of my favorite peanut butter

and a sprinkling of chopped up dark chocolate or chocolate chips, and some chopped walnuts for some crunch–yum! 

How do you like your oatmeal?

I love that today is the first of the month AND a Monday.  I didn’t do as well with p90x last week as I wanted to so I decided to start it over today since it is the first and a Monday 🙂  I will be taking pictures of my progress and I’ll wait til the end to post them–if I am that brave even!  eeek!  Today was great, though.  I took my 90 lb german shepherd puppy Clark out for a 3.5 mile run and the combination of the crisp fall air and Pandora on my phone and Clark really pushed me and hard!  I ran each mile sub-8 minutes which I do not normally do!  Then I did the awesome p90x chest and back workout–the one with the pull-ups and push-ups–followed by the brutal 15 minute ab workout and I feel great!  I burned over 1000 calories according to my heart rate monitor! 

Dinner was homemade pizza.  I use the crust recipe found here, which was the first one I found and I really like it!  It’s not a thin crust and it also makes great breadsticks.  I’ve never tried it in the skillet but I bake it at 425* for 5 minutes and then take it out and add the toppings.  For the sauce, I’m a Hunts girl.  Hunts tomato sauce with a glove of garlic sauteed in olive oil and some italian herb seasoning is what I use.  I added chopped zucchini and red pepper to my half, leaving the other half plain for my picky little eaters.  I put cheese and pepperoni on top and every last morsel was eaten!   Even Pete liked it!

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 8:09 pm

    Have you tried weelicious pizza crust? We love it!

  2. November 2, 2010 10:51 am

    I love my rolled oats raw (overnight oats) and my oat bran cooked, though lately I have been making huge batches of my overnight oats so they are ready to go in the fridge for the week.

    Gosh, my favorite pizza toppings… hard to say… I love a good veggie pizza with everything imaginable on top. 🙂

    • November 4, 2010 9:16 am

      I’ve been making some veggie pizzas lately! I put broccoli, red pepper, carrots, and zucchini on mine and it was wonderful!

Trackbacks

  1. Pizza Night « A Taste of Tangy

Leave a Reply

