Skip to content

The Pumpkin Project

October 31, 2010

The last time I went to Walmart, I picked up one of the massive cans of pumpkin.

I decided that Friday was going to be a pumpkin-themed baking day and I was going to see just how many different pumpkin foods I could make from that one can. 

Unfortunately, things did not go as planned.  See, when I was in the baking isle, all of the cans in the front had huge dents in them, so I grabbed one from the back that was not dented.  I didn’t even bother closely looking at the can.  After I opened it on Friday, I saw that it was the easy pumpkin-pie filling, full of sugar and spices, not the pure pumpkin.  I was so bummed, since it ruled out any kind of savory pumpkin foods.  But, in grand Tangy tradition, I used it since I sure was not going to let that big can go to waste!

Pumpkin Cheesecake French Toast

I absolutely am not claiming this to be the healthiest dish, because it is not, but still perhaps a better choice than a restaurant meal or it could just be a special treat.  It could easily be made much better by using the pure pumpkin filling…but of course that is not what I had!

I used the remaining pumpkin in a loaf of pumpkin bread…which I didn’t get a picture of before it was all devoured 🙂

I still plan on getting a few more cans of pumpkin before the year is over, so stay tuned for Pumpkin Project Take 2!

What is your favorite pumpkin dish?

 

Today is, of course, Halloween and my little ones looked so cute, if I do say so 😉  It was hard getting my little diva daughter to cooperate but I suppose the pictures just show her budding personality! 

showing us his muscles!

Peter and his cousin–SUPERHEROES!

Then within minutes of getting home…

And Batman sorted through his candy–he did pretty well!

including a bunch of full-size stuff!!  And a caramel apple!  I never did that well when I was a trick-or-treater!

Of course, I have no idea what to do with all this candy–the kids will NOT be eating it all!  And neither will Pete and I.  Besides keeping it around for a huge junk-food stash, the only thing I can think to do with it is to give it away!  Probably off to work with Pete! 

I hope you all had a safe and happy Halloween!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 11:29 am

    I bought 20 cans of pumpkin in Sept and at least half are gone and I am hosting a cooking club later this month so I will use some more then. I love pumpkin bread, I made some pumpkin cookies with caramel frosting last weekend that were a huge hit, and then I also have recipes for pumpkin corn bread, and a pumpkin and prosciutto soup.

    • November 1, 2010 2:34 pm

      omg 20 cans?! When should I come over?? I want to make some sweet potato/pumpkin soup!

  2. November 1, 2010 11:52 am

    Haha, the kids look so cute 😀 I’ve never been to a halloween party or dressed up on Halloween since it’s not very celebrated holiday here but I love seeing people’s pictures!

Leave a Reply

