Skip to content

A Change in the Air

October 28, 2010

I’m sure all the other Midwesterners can relate to me this morning–BRRRRRRR!  No more sunshine, just freezing cold winds today!! 

I took a major step today regarding the future of me and my family…hopefully soon I’ll be able to report back some good news 🙂

I have been in a funk this week of just not being very hungry–not that I am complaining!  It’s nice to be like this after feeling insatiable for a while!  I scrambled 5 whole eggs this morning and gave most of them to my daughter and my niece and I just wasn’t in the mood for mine.  I did eat all of my roasted veggies, though.  The last of the pre-chopped ones! 

The only things I’ve been really wanting lately are peanut butter and almond butter. I’ve had my (first-ever!) container of almond butter for less than two weeks and I am already down to the bottom of the jar 😦   Honestly, I think for a while there I was having a spoonful every time I walked into the kitchen!  I made some cookies yesterday and I was wanting some more today, but I was really also wanting some peanut butter and less dishes to wash! (I miss having a dishwasher terribly!)

So I scooped about 1/4 cup Smuckers peanut butter into a bowl, dumped in some old-fashioned oats, and added a few chocolate chips.  Viola!  Like chocolate-chip peanut butter cookies, without the flour and the oven time.  It totally hit the spot and my daughter really liked it, too!  It wasn’t very pretty, but has that ever stopped me before?! 

Is there anything you eat that looks less-than-appetizing but still tastes delicious?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mandie permalink
    October 28, 2010 2:19 pm

    pretty much everything i eat is ugly. 🙂 When I have a chocolate craving, i mix a little coconut oil with cocoa and agave nectar (or stevia) together and freeze for a minute. mmmmm…there isn’t many things that are better than the taste of coconut and chocolate together.

    • October 28, 2010 2:24 pm

      I’ve had coconut on the brain lately 🙂 Thank you for converting me to coconut milk!! I’m about 95% dairy-free now! I do have some cheese about once a week…usually pizza 🙂 I must have coconut milk and cocoa in my coffee now. And I love it cold even better!

  2. October 28, 2010 5:01 pm

    Oh my goodness – I feel so much better… I also purchased a jar of pb just a few weeks ago that is now empty. It’s one that I’ve had at work too, so I know it’s just me eating it. 😉 I’m sure glad it’s cheap! I love your idea about pb with oats and chocolate chips! My post today is certainly the perfect example of something that doesn’t look appetizing at all – but is absolutely divine!

    • October 28, 2010 6:06 pm

      To me, your stuff looked good 🙂 But I knew it had chocolate and coconut in it!! Sometimes my husband will look at what I am eating and just look absolutely disgusted!! I did make myself a bowl of oatmeal once that was a complete failure but I ate it in front of him and acted like it tasted good so I wouldn’t get any “I-told-you-so’s!”

  3. October 31, 2010 12:00 pm

    OMG – I just read your response and laughed out loud! That is totally something I would do.

Leave a Reply

