Skip to content

Breakfast of Champions!

October 25, 2010

Good morning (and afternoon!!) Everyone!  Hope you are all having a fabulous Monday!

I woke up still feeling kind of yucky from yesterday’s eats.  But today will be much, much, better!  I was slightly disappointed I didn’t get my 5am workout in but with good reason–poor Pete strained his back last night and had to sleep in the downstairs spare bedroom–aka MY workout room.  So I couldn’t really be too upset; at this point I am just hoping his back feels better soon!  He in currently in route to the chiropractor so I am hopeful!

I started my morning off with a serving of fruit and veggies with my Not-so-Green Green Smoothie

Basically, to have your smoothie not be a shade of green when using spinach, use berries!!  I used some frozen fruit today–a cherry-berry blend.  It was very good!

Then I wanted to make sure I got in another serving of veggies while also getting some veggies prepped and ready for the next couple of days.  I have started chopping up a ton of them at once and then refridgerating the extra so I can just throw them in the oven for a quick roast:)  Today’s veggies were carrots, a sweet potato, a small potato, broccoli, cauliflower, a zucchini, half of an acorn squash, and 2 cloves of garlic. 

Speaking of acorn squash…I have a confession: large fruits and vegetables absolutely terrify me! 

I usually have my husband cut into them for me!  Anyone else have this same fear?  He wasn’t available in the kitchen today, so I just got out my big knife and hoped for the best!!  Luckily, no fingers were harmed in the process!!

Now on to my next endeavor:  chili!  We’ve been craving it lately with the cool fall weather.  What is your favorite fall meal?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

