Skip to content

Sometimes you just have to work with what you’ve got

October 22, 2010

On the last days leading up to the big grocery shopping day, it can be difficult to eat any kind of “normal” meal if you haven’t perfectly planned out all of your meals. I’m trying to get better about making a weekly menu but I usually end up feeling very overwhelmed after it takes me an hour to think of meals for two days! Yesterday I was frantically looking through my kitchen cabinets and my fridge to see what I could pull together for dinner! I had frozen chicken breasts but to be honest, we’ve all gotten a little burned out on grilled chicken every day for dinner. I had a can of tomato paste sitting out that was just slightly cracked open–I thought it was tomato sauce at the time–and a big container of leftover tomato sauce in the fridge. Then I remembered buying some cottage cheese and to my luck–Pete had not found it and it was still a full container! I had a box of lasagna noodles as well so I stopped at the store for some hamburger so I could make one of our favs, lasagna! It wasn’t the healthiest thing but it was the best I could do to make everyone happy and it could have been much, much worse!

Easy Lasagna
1 lb hamburger
3 cloves garlic
2 tbsp olive oil
1 lrg. can tomato sauce (I use Hunts)
1 12 oz can tomato paste
spices of choice
9 lasagna noodles (yesterday’s were no-bake)
12 oz cottage cheese
1 egg
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
3 cups mozzerella cheese

1) brown hamburger with one clove of minced garlic.

2) Meanwhile, heat up olive oil in medium saucepan. Add 2 cloves of minced garlic, sautee for one minute or until garlic browns.

3) Add tomato sauce and paste, spices, stir.

4) After hamburger has browned and drained, add tomato mixture.

5) in a medium mixing bowl, combine cottage cheese, egg, and parmesan cheese

6) spray a 9×13 pan with olive oil spray. Arrange 3 lasagna noodles on pan.

7) spoon 1/3 of the cottage cheese mixture over the noodles, then top with cheese, then top with sauce mixture.

8) repeat til all 9 noodles are used, then top with sauce, covering all the noodles and top with more cheese.

9) Cover with foil, Bake at 350* for 30 minutes, then remove foil and continue baking 15 minutes or until cheese is melted.

10) Enjoy!

And no I didn’t cook it too long…I really like my cheese nice and brown!! LOL

We had 2 leftover hot dog buns from earlier in the week. Not to let them go to waste, I tore them in half and brushed the top of each with some olive oil and topped with a little cheese and garlic powder.

So even though it wasn’t the healthiest meal, we used what we had. And everyone liked it so I think it was a success 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 10:26 pm

    That looks good! Shaun cooks a pretty good lasagna and it has been forever since he made it last so I think when he gets home next weekend I am going to request it.

Leave a Reply

