Skip to content

Fitting it all in

November 29, 2010

A conversation I had with my co-worker today really made me think.  I was talking about some of the meals and foods I eat regularly and she just looked a little astonished and asked, “When do you have the time?”

How do you find the time to make your health a priority?

We are such busy people.  We get up early in the morning, some of us have kids to get ready for school or daycare, we go to work all day, we get home tired from work, we have a measly two or three hours of family time before everyone hits the sack.  Repeat.

For some people, this list is describes their whole day, with no exceptions.  Others might have classes or lessons for them or their kids to go to in the evenings or meetings to attend or second jobs.  We can all argue about who has the busiest, most jam-packed schedules, but no matter what, people will make the time for what is important to them.

I haven’t watched a tv show in its entirety from my couch in ages.  Yet, a lot of “busy” people somehow make time for this. 

There are a lot of simple things you can do with the time you do have and still make healthy choices.

  • I don’t have time to go through the drive-thru at McDonalds or Starbucks every morning.  (not to mention….I work hard for my money and I don’t like to throw it away every day) I do, however, have time to take 30 seconds and fill up my coffeemaker with water and coffee, and an0ther 30 seconds after I’m dressed to pour myself a cup and doctor it up with cocoa, stevia, and coconut milk. 

 

  • Breakfasts do not have to be complicated or time-consuming!  Oatmeal can be cooked on the stovetop in under 10 minutes.  Eggs can be cooked in under 5.  Toast- 2 minutes tops. If you need something that can be taken on-the-go, try making a smoothie!!  I made a delicious and nutritious green smoothie this morning in under 2 minutes and it went straight from the blender to my cup and into my car! 

 

  • Running late every morning?  Prep everything the night before!  I like to pack the next day’s lunch before I go to bed.  I also like to bake bread and muffins on the weekends for quick breakfasts during the week!  If you didn’t already know, baked goods freeze very well and all you have to do is take it out of the freezer and thaw for about 30 min at room temp or pop it in the microwave!

 

  • Be prepared.  Take the time to plan out your meals the day before.  Having a plan can save you time in the future.

 

  • Forget your lunch?  Sleep in and didn’t have time to pack it?  You are NOT limited to fast-food.  Try stopping at the grocery store!  Get a piece of fruit, nuts, a sandwich or wrap, a salad–bottom line, you get more nutrition bang for your buck.  Anything is better than that Big Mac and fries! 

 

  • Make more food!!  Leftovers are quick and easy–always make enough for leftovers :)

Any quick tips you can add to this list?

 

Speaking of leftovers, I like to make a big tray of roasted veggies 2-3 times per week. 

Look at all those gorgeous veggies :)

I always have some leftover to eat as a side

or with eggs for breakfast

Tonight I felt just FAMISHED after work.  I was craving pizza like mad!  So I decided to make one when I got home.  I made my own crust and sauce.

For the crust:

1 cup warm water (not hot!)

1 package yeast

1 tbsp honey or agave

2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup all-purpose unbleached flour

seasonings of choice (I like Italian herb)

2 tbsp olive oil

Put yeast and honey in bowl with warm water and let yeast activate for 5 minutes.  Add flours and spices, if desired, and oil.  Knead for 5 min.  Then make a dough ball and rub in 1 tbsp olive oil, coating the whole ball.  Let rise for 30 min. 

While the crust is getting ready to rise, you can start on your sauce.  I heat up 1 tbsp olive oil on medium heat in a medium skillet and then add one clove of finely chopped garlic.  I let this roast while I open a can of tomato sauce and a small can of tomato paste and dump them in, followed by more Italian herb seasoning. 

You can also prep any toppings…tonight I was dealing with a cranky 2-year-old so I did not chop up any veggies.  Use whatever you like.  I usually add zucchini and whatever else I have on hand.  Today I cheated–roasted red peppers from a jar.

Then after 30 min, knead the dough again briefly and spread onto a cookie sheet lightly greased with olive oil. 

I cook the crust by itself for 5 minutes before I take it out to put the sauce and toppings on.  Once it is completely assembled, bake at 350* for 20 minutes. 

And you know what?  I wasn’t standing in the kitchen that whole time.  While I was waiting for my dough to rise I was hanging out with the kiddos.  Just because the start-to-finish time may have been over an hour, it doesn’t mean it was an hour spent in the kitchen ;)

And the best part??  LEFTOVERS!  I can bring a couple slices with some salad for my lunch tomorrow and Pete can have a quick dinner before he goes to bed (he works seconds and isn’t home with us in the evenings). 

ETA- Since we never see each other, sometimes we find creative ways to communicate.  I found this on my camera when I was uploading today’s photos

Isn’t he sweet?  What kinds of little things does your significant other do for you?

Now I need to get some dishes done and laundry put away so I can get my workout in and still go to bed by 10 :) 

Until tomorrow!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 12:57 am

    i make a BIG roast every sunday too! that way i can just pop some onto my plate for any meal all week and theyre already cooked!

    • November 30, 2010 11:08 pm

      I know it’s the greatest!! I like to use my meat in wraps and quesadillas, too!

  2. December 1, 2010 3:17 am

    Funnily enough I always make the time to prepare food but exercise usually suffers if I’m busy…

    • December 1, 2010 6:43 am

      I always put exercise first in the warmer months when I can be doing it outside…now that it is freezing here, I don’t look forward to working out indoors very much so my focus is on my eating!!

  3. December 1, 2010 7:38 am

    I agree with you whole-heartedly, but it can be SO hard to convince others that they too can easily incorporate these habits in their life. Even some of my clients who are seeking out help to get in shape are convinced they are not able to make their lunch the night before and bring it into work.

  4. December 2, 2010 8:31 am

    I love all of your tips. In high school, I was going to school and working nearly full time. Between school and work I had about an hour and a half to eat a healthy dinner and workout. Somehow I manged it quite well.

    In my spare time I like to cook big batches of rice or soup to have all week. In the summer I’ll usually make a huge salad weekly and keep it in the fridge for a quick healthy snack.

    I totally agree with what you said about making time for TV shows and what not. I’m not a big fan of TV either but my family is so, to spend a little time with them each night (if I’m not busy) I’ll watch a show or two with them while I have something in the oven or even while I’m studying for an exam.

    And people do always make time for what they want. As busy as I may be, I always try to cram in some gym time a few times a week.

    Whitney

  5. December 14, 2010 8:56 am

    I don’t have time NOT to make health a priority. That’s the truth!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

