Skip to content

The Return of the Smoothies

November 27, 2010

I’ve been a bad, bad girl this week!!  No workouts!!  OMG!  The two hours in the car for my commute Monday through Wednesday were a bit of a shock to my system after months of staying at home all day.  But now I’m down to a shorter commute so I promise, I’ll be good :)

I bought a ton of spinach the last time I went to the grocery store and as of this morning, I had yet to use any of it!  It was time for a smoothie, stat!  I have given up dairy and, consequently, whey protein.  I have been doing a lot of vegan meals lately so I figured, hey, what the heck, I’ll get some vegan protein.  I found this baby at Kroger.

I added three huge handfuls of spinach since I felt like my body has been going through veggie withdrawal

Followed by this (I had originally thought it was just regular ole coconut milk, but it is diluted.  No good for my coffee, but excellent for smoothies!)

and my favorite fruit blend, with extra mango ;)

The verdict: Mixed feelings.  The protein was not the smooth-tasting yumminess that whey is.  It was gritty and kind of gave my smoothie a dirt taste.  After about half the glass, I think I was starting to become accustomed to the taste but it is definitely not something I’d give to the hubby or anyone else trying a green smoothie for the first time.  I think next time, I’ll be getting a different protein.   what kind of protein do you use?

I’m about to go wake up Pete (it IS noon, afterall!) so I can get in a good run before he has to leave for work.  I need to get rid of some of the garbage in my system today and my dog could really use the workout, also.  Tomorrow I will resume p90x.  I swear I have started and stopped it 394857 times.  Life just keeps getting in the way!!  And I never know if I need to start it over with week one or re-do the previous week or just start where I left off!! GRR!!  In a perfect world, I’d never have a reason to stop but I don’t see life slowing down any time soon!  No excuses though, this girl has worked TOO hard to get to this point.  More about that later :O)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 11:34 pm

    If you add up all the interruptions, have you completed the entire p90x sequence? If so, I think it should be fine to just pick up where you left off. It seems like you’re going to be interrupted (like it or not), so it should be OK to just return to the same point and keep going. Good luck!

  2. November 29, 2010 11:01 am

    I know what you mean about a smoothie being drinkable, but not good for giving to someone else. I’ve been making a lot of those lately! For protein, I have added hemp powder & whey powder but have started to wonder if I have low stomach acid which causes me to have trouble digesting protein – so for now I have just been focusing more on getting all the nutrients from the greens in my smoothie. :)

    • November 29, 2010 6:25 pm

      I’ve never tried hemp–how does that taste? Does it have a gritty texture like the rice protein? I’ve been having better luck adding half a frozen banana to my smoothies for some sweetness and to try to counteract the dirt taste!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

