Skip to content

Running Naked

November 27, 2010

 

Today I decided to go running naked.

Geeze, pervs, I am referring to technologically-naked.  No heart rate monitor, no music, not even the timer on my watch.  Just me, Clark, and the open road.   It was nice to not be focused on the numbers for once and to just concentrate on my running and not thinking about a zillion other things or getting frustrated with my Pandora cutting in and out.  And as you can tell, I am seriously lacking in cold-weather running gear.  I’m wearing Pete’s old Army stuff and while it did keep me pretty warm, he is also a good 5 inches taller than me and weighs a good 50 lbs more than me.  So not the most flattering stuff, lol.  Oh well, just another couple hundred dollars added to the list of fitness gear on my wish-list.  In time.

Tangy’s exercise tip of the day:  If you need to kick up your workout about 10 notches, then run with a very energetic, athletic, excitable dog who weighs at least 2/3 of your body weight.  I promise, you’ll get a good workout!!  Clark and I headed out into the country for a 3 mile run.  I had planned on making this a tempo run but it ended up being some speed training.  First mile couldn’t have been more than 7.5 minutes, even after 3 stops to go potty, not that I was timing myself or anything.  (Bonus:  if you are lucky enough to live near the country, no dog-poo pickup required!)  I think my body was in shock after no workouts and being fed Thanksgiving foods and even–gasp–McDonalds (in my defense, it was free…but never again), I was having to do a little walking after that.  Then the next 2 miles consisted of sprint-walk intervals with Clark pulling me during the walking portions.  I used to be the faster one with more endurance.  No longer.

After our run, I was hungry and ready for one of my new favorite quick meals:  Almond butter and banana slices on toasted Ezekial bread.

Mmmm Mmmmm.  I think I’ll have another green smoothie for dinner tonight to help flush out the rest of the bad stuff, if any of it is left in there ;)

What is your favorite post-workout meal?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 10:00 pm

    Sounds like a great run! I can’t wait for my hip to heal…
    I love green smoothies for a post-workout meal. So filling and I feel like the nutrients go straight to my muscles!

  2. thedailyoatmeal permalink
    November 28, 2010 8:57 am

    That sandwich is going to become my post-workout favorite! It looks amazing. I love the Army gear :)

  3. November 29, 2010 11:02 am

    I love a green smoothie after a workout! Mmmm.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

