Skip to content

Thank You!

November 24, 2010

First of all, I’d like to say a big “thank you” to anyone who stops by here.  I’m probably not the best writer and lord knows I am not the best photographer ;)  All the comments I get mean so much!  Muah!  Kisses!

And while I’m all ooey-gooey I’ll go ahead and name off the obligatory list of what I am thankful for this year:

  • My wonderful husband.  Who always puts up with me and my Tangy-ness and treats me way better than I deserve most of the time.  I’m glad I get to have him around for the holidays this year since he’s missed three years of being home during this time.  Finally, no more Iraq!
  • My two demons precious children.  They are really at challenging ages right now and the sibling dynamic always has me on my toes but I’m so thankful to have two beautiful, healthy children who are able to run around and trash my house everyday and who are creative enough to color pictures on my walls.  They make me want to be a better person and I want to give them the opportunity to experience anything in life they want.
  • My extended family.  Everyone has really helped us out in the past couple months in so many ways and I am very grateful to have such awesome people in my life!
  • To have a job.  I’ve only had it for 3 days now but it is 3 days til forever.  After months and months of searching and feeling so discouraged and hopeless–I swear every application I turned in must have had a huge “DO NOT HIRE” red flag turn up somewhere…but I’m so glad to be where I’m at now and I really do think things have worked out for the best in their own roundabout way.
  • I’m so thankful for my health.  It is something we all take for granted, to be healthy, and I know some are not so fortunate. 

Now, to prepare for tomorrow…

I’m really nervous now about any event involving people and food.  In fact, the last two times I had big events, I ended up getting really sick.  Losing-my-dinner and going straight to bed to fight off my migraine–kind of sick.  I thought it was just the liquor until Monday (my first day of work) when the same thing happened to me–big day I had been anticipating for a while, made it through most of day, then BOOM!  Killer nausea, bad headache, 3 trips to the bathroom, unable to keep a single thing down.  So I am hoping for a better experience tomorrow.  Do you have any techniques to calm your nerves and de-stress before a highly anticipated event?

I might wear my skinny jeans tomorrow just to keep everything in perspective.  Not actual skinny jeans, but just my smallest pair that I can just barely get away with squeezing into.  Plus I think they could use a good stretching-out so I can wear them to casual Friday!!  I think they are the lone pair nice enough for work.  Shamefull…I need to go jeans-shopping again but aacccckkkkk does anyone find that to be a pleasant experience?!  I usually end up near-tears feeling fat and deformed when pair after pair does not work for me.  I at least have it narrowed down to mid-rise, long length, boot-cut, slim fit through the hip and thigh.  Now the challenge:  to see if a pair like that actually exists.  What are your favorite kind of jeans?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Valorie permalink
    November 24, 2010 11:39 pm

    I’m not that big a fan of jeans shopping, but this last time I really needed some because what I had were too big (yay!). So I went in thinking a size smaller and actually went 2 sizes down and with the way they stretch when they’re worn, I could have even gone 3! (I think part of that might be some different sizing from when I got my jeans at the same place last year)

    Anyway, I like the American Eagle Favorite Boyfriend. But the new ones are WAY long, I should have gotten short length. They’re way longer than the old ones were…which is odd because of the size difference.

    Not too expensive either. $20 cheaper than the one’s I’d get at the Gap.

    • November 24, 2010 11:44 pm

      I always thought AE jeans were a bit too short so maybe I’d like these! The last time I went in there I was too big for any of their jeans but I shouldn’t have that problem now! It is hard to feel like a smaller person now. I still feel so far away from my goal but I know I look a lot better than I did at this time last year. I need to go back into some of those stores and give them another shot!

  2. ann mcmullen permalink
    November 24, 2010 11:56 pm

    and your mother?

    • November 25, 2010 12:25 am

      is part of the aforementioned extended family :)

  3. November 25, 2010 6:28 am

    I love the new jeans from Target! They totally revamped their line and they actually fit! I have wider hips and I hate wearing jeans that show my buttcrack when I sit down :) – they have a line of jeans that hit right below the waist and are “curvy” for ladies like me whose hips can’t fit into teeny bopper jeans.

  4. November 26, 2010 11:43 am

    So much to be thankful for!!!
    My fave jeans are Joe’s Boot cut!

  5. Amanda permalink
    November 27, 2010 4:05 pm

    I know I’m a little late, but I love jeans from maurice’s! They have a lot of different styles, so try on one of each!

  6. November 27, 2010 10:25 pm

    I’ve never heard of Joe’s jeans!

    Amanda- I looooove Maurices. I think I bought most of my current jeans there but they are all Silvers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

